Best booking apps for self-employed beauty professionals in the UK
If you are a self-employed UK beauty professional building your own brand, JENA is the strongest fit. It brings booking, an SEO-optimised website on Pro and Max, no new-client fees and real support into one simple system. It works for hairdressers, aestheticians, nail technicians and beauty therapists, whether you work alone or alongside other independents in a JENA Collective.
Disclosure: JENA publishes this guide and is one of the products compared. We have given every platform a genuine best-fit position and linked to current official sources so you can check the detail yourself.
Last checked: 1 September 2026.
How we chose the six apps
Let me make this simple. You do not need the app with the longest feature list. You need the one that fits how you work, how clients find you and how predictable you want your bill to be.
We compared the six products on the things that change the decision: marketplace discovery, support for your own brand, subscription and variable fees, online booking, deposits and payments, booking website or profile options, reminders and marketing, solo simplicity, salon and team depth, AI, migration and human support.
There are three types of system here:
- JENA is built for independent professionals who want to grow their own brand. That includes people working solo and Collectives of self-employed professionals who share a space while keeping their own brands, businesses and payments separate.
- Fresha, Booksy and Treatwell are marketplaces as well as booking systems. They may help new clients discover you, but marketplace or promotion fees can apply.
- Timely and Ovatu are salon-management systems. They go deeper on stock, staff and salon operations, but getting discovered is still your job.
JENA is not a consumer marketplace. That does not mean it does nothing for discovery. Pro and Max include an SEO-optimised website on your own domain, built to help your business show up in local Google searches. No website can guarantee page-one rankings, but this gives you a direct route to new clients without paying a fee every time one books.
Comparison at a glance
| Platform | Best for | Discovery model | Current UK costs | Booking presence | Reminders and marketing | Payments and deposits | AI, support and migration |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| JENA | Solo professionals and Collectives who want one simple system built around their own brands | No marketplace. Pro and Max include an SEO-optimised website on your own domain to help build Google visibility without new-client fees | Starter £9, Pro £29, Max £49 a month. VAT included. Collectives £15 per person a month. No booking commission | Booking link on every plan. Branded website with custom domain on Pro and Max | Email confirmations and reminders on every plan. SMS reminders and marketing on Pro and Max. Marketing texts cost 5p each | Deposits, card payments and Tap to Pay. Stripe processing from 1.5% + 30p. Collective payments go directly to each professional's own account | Max includes AI Setter, AI Coach and AI Receptionist. Free migration help and human support on every plan. Collectives connects full independent accounts |
| Fresha | Solo or team businesses that want marketplace discovery and broad operating tools | Consumer marketplace plus direct booking links | Independent £14.95 a month + VAT. A new marketplace client's first booking costs 20% + VAT, with a £4 minimum + VAT | Fresha marketplace profile, client app and direct booking links | 20 notification messages and 50 marketing emails included monthly, then usage charges. Marketing texts cost 8p + VAT | Upfront payments and no-show controls. Online payments cost 1.40% + 25p + VAT | Optional AI Concierge costs £79.95 per location a month + VAT. Independent includes email and chat support. Data imports are supported |
| Booksy | Businesses that want a marketplace, one all-features plan and strong team tools | Marketplace listing included. Optional Boost buys more visibility | £40 a month + VAT for one user. Extra users cost £5 a month + VAT. Optional Boost is listed as 30% + VAT, £5 minimum + VAT, on a new Boost client's first visit | Booksy profile, direct link, marketplace, social and Google booking, plus a website widget | Unlimited appointment confirmations and reminders. 500 marketing texts included monthly, then 5p + VAT each | Deposits and cancellation fees. Mobile Payments cost 1.29% + 20p + VAT. Tap to Pay costs 0.99% + 20p + VAT | No AI offer is used as a deciding claim here. Client lists can be added by spreadsheet and Booksy provides a help centre |
| Treatwell | Freelancers and salons that value Treatwell marketplace demand | Consumer marketplace plus direct social and website booking buttons | Monthly subscription is not publicly stated. The public page says 35% + VAT on a first booking from a new marketplace client, subject to location. Your agreement controls the exact charges | Unique Treatwell venue profile and booking buttons for social media and your website | Unlimited email notifications and reminders. Current public SMS prices were not confirmed | Online prepayments cost 2.5% + VAT | No AI offer is used as a deciding claim here. Treatwell says its customer service team can import basic data and technical notes |
| Timely | Beauty professionals who need stock, staff and salon-management depth without marketplace fees | No new-client marketplace fee. You drive demand to your own booking routes | Build £22, Elevate £34, Innovate £39 per active bookable staff member a month. The UK pricing page does not state the VAT treatment, so VAT may be payable on top | Hosted mini website and social booking buttons | 100, 200 or 300 SMS included per staff member by plan, then 9p each. Targeted SMS starts on Elevate | Deposits and payments. UK rates are 1.59% + 5p in person and 1.85% + 30p online | No full AI assistant is used as a deciding claim here. Direct phone support is included on Innovate |
| Ovatu | Businesses that need classes, POS, stock, rosters and integrations | No consumer marketplace. Its hosted mini-site gives clients somewhere to book, but it does not create demand for you | Neat £20 or Loaded £30 a month for the first bookable employee. Extra employees cost £6 or £9. Ovatu does not state that VAT is included | Personal mini-site, booking link and website widgets. Own-domain support requires Loaded | Email reminders are included. SMS costs 7p per message. Campaigns are on Loaded | Online payments and deposits through supported payment integrations. No single public UK processing rate was verified | No proprietary AI assistant was verified. Free data imports and phone, email and live-chat support are listed |
Prices and fees are not perfectly like for like. Some include VAT, some add it, and some move with bookings, staff or messages. Treat the table as a shortlist, then use your real monthly numbers before switching.
JENA: best for building your own brand, alone or together
Best for: You run your own beauty business and want to build your name, not somebody else’s marketplace. It also works if you share a space with other self-employed professionals but each of you wants to keep your own brand and business.
Why it may suit you: JENA starts with the independent professional. Starter handles bookings, email reminders, deposits and payments. Pro adds your own SEO-optimised website, forms, marketing, SMS reminders, Smart Scheduling and Gap Elimination. Max adds the AI Setter, AI Coach and AI Receptionist.
The website matters. It lives on your own domain, shows your services, work and reviews, and is built to help you rank in local Google searches. JENA does not hand you marketplace clients, but it helps you build a Google presence that can bring people straight to your business without a new-client fee. Rankings are never guaranteed, so your location, competition, content and Google Business Profile still matter.
JENA Collectives is for independent professionals working together. Each person keeps a full JENA account, brand, calendar and business. The Collective connects everyone through one shared booking link, shared calendar visibility and joint appointment management. Payments and deposits go straight to the individual professional’s own account, so the organiser does not receive everyone’s money and then have to divide it up. It costs £15 per person a month, VAT included.
Key verified costs: Starter is £9 a month or £79 a year. Pro is £29 a month or £249 a year. Max is £49 a month or £399 a year. VAT is included. JENA charges no booking commission. Payment processing starts at 1.5% + 30p and marketing texts cost 5p each.
The trade-off: JENA is not a marketplace, so it will not drop bookings into your diary just because you signed up. You still need to build your reputation and Google presence. The branded website and SMS tools also start on Pro, not Starter.
See JENA pricing for the full plan boundaries.
Fresha: best for marketplace reach on a solo plan
Best for: A solo beauty professional who wants marketplace discovery and is comfortable treating the new-client fee as an acquisition cost.
Why it may suit you: Fresha gives you booking software and a consumer marketplace in one place. That can be useful when you are still trying to get discovered. Direct booking links are free, and the marketplace fee applies once when Fresha brings you a brand-new client.
Key verified costs: Fresha Independent is £14.95 a month + VAT. The first booking from a new marketplace client costs 20% + VAT, with a £4 minimum + VAT. Online payments cost 1.40% + 25p + VAT. The plan includes 20 notification messages and 50 marketing emails a month, with usage charges after that. Marketing texts cost 8p + VAT.
The trade-off: The £14.95 headline is not the whole story. Once you add VAT, the subscription starts at £17.94 a month. Then your bill moves with new marketplace clients, messages and any add-ons you use. You also get a Fresha profile and hosted booking routes, not the own-domain website JENA includes in Pro and Max.
Read what Fresha actually costs or compare Fresha vs JENA.
Booksy: best for a marketplace plus one all-features plan
Best for: You specifically want Booksy’s marketplace or team tools and are happy to pay one all-features price.
Why it may suit you: Booksy keeps the plan choice simple. You pay once and get its booking, client, marketing, payment and team tools. You also get a marketplace profile, direct link and a widget for an existing website.
Key verified costs: Booksy costs £40 a month + VAT for one user, or £48 including 20% VAT. Extra users cost £5 a month + VAT each. Optional Boost is listed on Booksy’s pricing page at 30% + VAT, with a £5 minimum + VAT, on a new Boost client’s first visit. Mobile Payments cost 1.29% + 20p + VAT. Tap to Pay costs 0.99% + 20p + VAT.
The trade-off: For a one-person business, Booksy is expensive. The base price is £48 a month including VAT before Boost or payment fees. Its feature list is broad, but a lot of the extra value sits in marketplace and team tools. If you do not need those, you are paying a high base price for features that may not move your business forward.
There is another issue. Booksy’s own UK pages disagree on Boost. The pricing page says 30% with a £5 minimum. The general features page says 40% with a £10 minimum. We have used the specific pricing page, but check the rate in your account and agreement before deciding.
Read what Booksy actually costs or compare Booksy vs JENA.
Treatwell: best for businesses that value its salon marketplace
Best for: A freelancer or salon that wants Treatwell’s marketplace to be a meaningful source of new clients.
Why it may suit you: Treatwell is built around salon discovery. Alongside the marketplace, you get a digital calendar, online booking, a venue profile, reviews, promotions, reports and POS tools.
Key verified costs: Treatwell does not publish the monthly subscription amount. Its public page says it charges 35% + VAT on a new marketplace client’s first booking, subject to location, and 0% on repeat or direct bookings. Online prepayments cost 2.5% + VAT. Treatwell’s Partner Terms say your Specific Partner Agreement controls the exact subscription, commission and processing fees.
The trade-off: You cannot calculate the real bill from the public website because Treatwell does not show the monthly subscription. The marketplace may bring new clients, but 35% + VAT on their first booking is a serious acquisition cost. Get the full quote in writing before you compare it with anything else.
Compare Treatwell vs JENA.
Timely: best for deeper salon operations without a marketplace
Best for: A self-employed beauty professional who needs stock, staff, forms, reporting and structured salon operations more than marketplace discovery.
Why it may suit you: Timely is a proper salon-management system. Build already includes online booking, a mini website, reminders, stock and payments. Elevate and Innovate add more forms, client records, marketing, staff and reporting tools.
Key verified costs: Build is £22, Elevate £34 and Innovate £39 per active bookable staff member each month. Part-time bookable staff cost the same as full-time staff. The plans include 100, 200 or 300 SMS per staff member, then charge 9p per extra SMS. Timely’s UK pricing page does not state the VAT treatment, so VAT may be payable on top. Confirm the final amount with Timely.
The trade-off: Timely charges the full plan price for every bookable person, including part-timers. That gets expensive as you grow. It also gives you a hosted mini website, not a consumer marketplace or your own custom-domain site, so finding new clients is still on you.
Compare Timely vs JENA.
Ovatu: best for classes, POS, stock and flexible integrations
Best for: A business that runs classes or needs deeper POS, inventory, staff-roster and integration tools.
Why it may suit you: Ovatu goes deep. Neat includes appointments, classes, online booking, POS, stock, reporting and rosters. Loaded adds forms, campaigns, passes, gift cards, loyalty and more website control.
Key verified costs: Neat is £20 a month for the first bookable employee and £6 for each additional employee. Loaded is £30 and £9 for each additional employee. SMS costs 7p per message. Ovatu’s pricing page does not say VAT is included, and its agreement says fees exclude applicable taxes unless inclusion is stated.
The trade-off: Ovatu gives you a hosted mini-site and booking widgets. Loaded also lets you use your own domain. But these are booking destinations, not a discovery engine. There is no consumer marketplace, so getting found is fully on you. The operating depth may also feel heavy if you only want a clean diary, booking page and reminders.
Compare Ovatu vs JENA.
Which booking app should I choose?
Here is the honest answer. Start with how you run your business, not which app has the longest feature list.
- You are solo and want to build your own brand and customer base: Start with JENA. Pro brings your website, booking, forms, marketing and SMS reminders together for £29 a month including VAT.
- You work alongside other self-employed professionals and want to collaborate without giving up your separate brands: Choose JENA Collectives. Each person keeps their own full account and business, while the shared link and calendar tools connect the Collective. Payments go directly to the professional who earned the money, not through one organiser’s account.
- You want a fair, predictable bill: JENA’s plans are £9, £29 or £49 a month including VAT, with no new-client fee. Your normal payment-processing and marketing-SMS costs still vary with use, but the subscription does not jump because a new client booked.
- You need a marketplace to help attract new clients: Compare Fresha, Booksy and Treatwell. Track the first-booking fee against what those clients spend and whether they return.
- You specifically want Booksy’s marketplace and team tools: Booksy may fit, but £48 a month including VAT is expensive for a one-person business before Boost or payment fees.
- You need stock, rotas, classes or detailed salon operations: Compare Timely and Ovatu. They go deeper, but do not expect either platform to bring demand through a consumer marketplace.
- You want AI to help with booking and business support: JENA Max includes the AI Setter, AI Coach and AI Receptionist. Fresha offers AI Concierge as a paid add-on.
- You want hands-on support and do not want to be left to figure things out alone: Choose JENA. You get a dedicated specialist you can reach directly by phone, WhatsApp or email. The JENA WhatsApp community is where users help each other, ask questions and share wins. Running a solo business can be lonely. With JENA, you do not have to do it alone.
- You are moving from another system and want hands-on help: JENA includes free migration and human support on every plan. Ovatu lists free data imports. Fresha and Treatwell also describe import routes, while Booksy supports client uploads.
No payment is required to start. If marketplace discovery is the one thing you need, test the marketplace options and track what each new client actually costs.
Our balanced recommendation
Here is my honest recommendation: if you run a solo beauty business, or a Collective of independents, start with JENA unless you have a clear reason not to.
You get direct booking, your own website on Pro and Max, fixed plan prices, human support and free migration. You are building your own brand and customer base, not renting visibility from a marketplace.
Choose Fresha, Booksy or Treatwell if marketplace discovery is genuinely worth the first-booking cost. Choose Timely or Ovatu if deeper salon operations, stock, classes or staff management matter more than simplicity. Do not pay for complexity you will not use.
Common questions
Which booking apps can help new clients find me?
Fresha, Booksy and Treatwell include consumer marketplaces. JENA takes a different route. Pro and Max give you an SEO-optimised website on your own domain to help build visibility in Google, without charging a new-client fee. Rankings are never guaranteed. Timely and Ovatu have booking destinations but no consumer marketplace.
Can JENA work for self-employed professionals sharing a space?
Yes. JENA Collectives connects full independent accounts. Each person keeps their own brand, calendar and business, while the Collective gets one shared booking link, calendar visibility and joint appointment management. Payments go directly to each professional’s own account instead of being collected by one organiser and split later. It costs £15 per person a month including VAT.
Which is the cheapest booking app in this comparison?
Among the public UK subscription prices checked here, JENA Starter has the lowest entry price at £9 a month including VAT. That does not make it the best value for everyone. Starter does not include JENA’s branded website, SMS reminders or marketing tools, and Treatwell’s monthly subscription is not public.
Do all six apps support online payments or deposits?
All six provide a route to online payments, deposits or prepayments, but the payment setup and processing charges differ. Check whether the platform uses its own payment service or an integration, then model the fees using your real transaction mix.
Should I choose a marketplace or my own website?
Choose a marketplace if you need its audience and the acquisition fee works for your margins. Choose your own website if you want to build a brand and Google presence that you control. JENA Pro and Max combine that own-domain website with booking and business tools. A hosted profile or booking widget is not the same thing.
Are the prices shown with VAT?
JENA prices include VAT. Fresha, Booksy and Treatwell add VAT to the charges described above. Timely’s UK pricing page does not state the VAT treatment, so VAT may be payable on top. Confirm the final amount with Timely. Ovatu does not state that VAT is included, and its agreement says applicable taxes are extra unless stated.
Disclosure and official sources
Disclosure: JENA publishes this article and is one of the products compared. The other companies had no involvement in it. We used current public official sources, disclosed material gaps and conflicts, and omitted claims we could not verify. Prices, taxes, features and terms can change.
All sources below were checked on 1 September 2026.
JENA sources
- JENA pricing
- JENA vs Fresha
- JENA vs Booksy
- JENA vs Treatwell
- JENA vs Timely
- JENA vs Ovatu
- What Fresha actually costs
- What Booksy actually costs
Competitor sources
- Fresha UK pricing
- Booksy UK pricing
- Booksy UK features
- Booksy online booking
- Treatwell UK partner pricing
- Treatwell Partner Terms
- Timely UK pricing
- Ovatu pricing
- Ovatu SaaS Agreement
Ready to build your own brand?
Whether you work solo or alongside other independents, JENA gives clients one simple place to book while you keep building your own brand. Start on Starter, choose Pro for your website and growth tools, or use JENA Collectives to work together without becoming one business.
No payment is required to start. All JENA prices include VAT.